In defence of the pleated skirt.

“Murder, She Wrote” Series 1 – Episode 5
“It’s a Dog’s Life”
(Post 2 of 2)

First things first… to everyone who has taken the time to read my blog or share it with their friends, comment or write to me, I would like to say thank you!
I love Jessica’s style and I am just trying to learn from it, and I feel very lucky to have met so many lovely people through this blog. Once again, thank you everyone for stopping by! : )

~~

There are few items of clothing that can be found across time and cultures as easily as one of my favourites: the pleated skirt.
From Renaissance Italy and Victorian England to China’s traditions and America’s Sixties, this style of skirt is flattering to all body types and easily adaptable to many different fabrics and colours.

And yet, there is a slight stigma connected to it. As this 2006 article pointed out, a pleated skirt is often considered stiff, bossy, too old fashioned or even geeky.

Well, I do believe that pleated skirts are great, and if we needed anyone to champion the versatility and beauty of this style, Jessica is definitely fit for the part.

We already saw Jessica with a grey pleated skirt and a brown pleated skirt, but in this episode we can see her wearing two other very pretty ones.

Jessica wears the same outfit in two different scenes, at the beginning and at the end of the episode: a patterned pleated skirt, her usual light blue shirt (which is such a staple in her wardrobe that I feel as I should not speak about it any longer) and a super cool “bomber” jacket.

pleated skirt 1 copy

I am not sure if this is because I was a teenager in the late 90s, but I never ever imagined myself wearing a bomber jacket: that was something only boys did.
My male classmates all had a black one because it was the cool thing to do, especially when riding to school on a silver moped.
Well, Jessica just made me change my mind. Seeing how pretty she looks pairing this sporty jacket with such a girly skirt makes me want to go out and buy one right now.

Partly proving my point, it has been slightly difficult to find a nice burgundy bomber jacket for women. I found a classic one in the menswear at Asos, and one at TopMan, which I would be happy to wear anyway, but all I could find specifically for women was this jacket at Modcloth, which luckily is incredibly pretty (and also available in brown).

Jessica’s beautiful pleated skirt has a nature-inspired pattern in soft shades of pink. It could be floral, but to me looks almost like a paisley print.
I really like this watermelon skirt available at USC and this vintage pastel pink skirt available at Rokit. Of course Etsy is a gold mine as usual, and I really like this 1970 pastel floral skirt by seller FabVintage, and this vintage Laura Ashley skirt by seller LucyRaeRetro.

The last thing to attract my attention is the horse plaque visible on the wall behind Jessica, and I found something with a similar vibe in this vintage wooden horse by Etsy seller 3sisterstreasures and in this handmade running horse by Etsy artist Peppysis.

The second pleated skirt she wears is a beige one, which probably is the same we saw before, but I picked a couple more, just to be on the safe side!

Jessica pleated skirt 2 copy

I like this skirt available at Oxfam, this 1980s one by Etsy seller BritishVintage and this 1970s one by Etsy seller ShoppeAndYore.

It has been a real challenge to find something similar to the white/cream jacket Jessica is wearing. From close inspection, it seemed made of denim but shaped slightly like a bomber, and to find a denim jacket without front pockets has proved pretty much impossible. Any suggestions are welcome!
In the end, I picked a few pretty white jackets which in my opinion have a similar vibe, like this off white bomber and this white denim, both by Uniqlo, this brocade jacket by Asos and this more sporty vintage denim available at Rokit.

Under the jacket, Jessica wears a simple white shirt, like this one by H&M.

I really love the scarf that Jessica is wearing. It’s a beautiful grey-white-pink combination which works perfectly in adding a touch of colour to an otherwise quite neutral outfit. I found a couple of lovely vintage scarves by iconic scarf designer Vera Neumann with a similar colour pattern: this one by Etsy seller Cottagewear and this one by Etsy seller Lea’sVintageRescue.
I also like this abstract scarf available at House of Fraser and, if you have a bit more money to spare, this two tones one by Farfetch.

I could just about make out the shoes Jessica is wearing and I am convinced they are loafers with a tassel on the tip, like these available at Asos, these cute ones by Accessorize and these by New Look. If you’d rather wear a different colour, I also like these lime and mole by H&M.

If you are wondering whether or not a pleated skirt is for you, my suggestion is to visit your local charity shop or the Oxfam website, where you can be sure to find a great selection of fabrics and colours at very cheap prices. In this way you can have a few to try out in different ways, all whilst supporting a worthy cause.

Jessica smiling

16 responses to “In defence of the pleated skirt.

  1. I loved your bomber jacket comment. I was in college in the late 80’s/early 90’s and bomber jackets were HUGE for guys and girls over here in the states! I still have one, although I haven’t worn it in ages. It’s not red, sadly. Maybe I’ll pull it out again anyway. :)

    • Oh, that is so cool, you totally should!! Now it is definitely on my shopping wish list. So glad you liked the post, thank you! X

  2. Thank you too – so much work must go into doing the research! I always look forward to your posts. :-)

    • Thank you so much X I love your blog and I always look forward to read it: you always inspire me with your awesome reviews and ideas!

  3. I love Jessica’s style–timeless and elegant. But more than just style, the quality of her clothes is wonderful. The patterns match perfectly, the clothes hang beautifully; everything looks like a great deal of care went into making each piece. I am so happy to find other people who appreciate these clothes, too! Thanks for all your work. :o)

    • Thank you so much!! And I totally agree with you: the attention to detail in this series is really amazing!

  4. zachandclem

    Still not a fan of the pleated skirt.. :P But it works for Fletcher :D

  5. Thank you so much for your posts – you are so generous with your research and I just love reading them!! I too am in awe of Jessica’s style. I love her pleated skirts, but am also so taken with the button back pencil skirts – with large buttons at the slit. I dream of finding one for myself one day.

    • Aw, thank you so much for such lovely comment! I have fun in doing this and it’s so great to hear that you enjoy reading it! Sometimes it can be quite difficult to find matching items but I always try my best. I love her pencil skirts too! If by any chance you have a screenshot of a particular skirt you like, let me know: I would be happy to see if I can find one online for you :)

  6. I, too, love Jessica’s style. You might also like Mary Tyler Moore’s style too. You should check her out.

  7. I love your blog! My best friend sent me a link. I can’t wait to read your posts each Thursday!

    • Thank you very much to you and your friend! I try my best to update every Thursday but I might be slightly late time to time… :)

Leave a Comment

