Jessica’s bow neck blouses: a fashion revelation!

“Murder, She Wrote” Series 1 – Pilot Episode
“The Murder of Sherlock Holmes”
(Post 1 of 4)

Fashion Tip learned :
Bow neck blouses look absolutely fabulous in any situation.

Life Lesson learned :
Do not walk alone at night in a city you are not familiar with.

Episode’s Highlight:
A fresh faced Andy Garcia trying to mug poor Jessica!

andy garcia 3
First things first, if you want to live a life of crime, better lose that earring, Andy!

Second, I am not sure if it is because this is the pilot, hence it is way longer than usual, but Jessica Fletcher wears about twenty (20!!) outfits in this episode!!
It would take me ages to go through all of them one by one, so I will have to pick and choose my favourites. :)

I will start from my first fashion discovery: bow neck blouses.
I must admit that I hardly knew they existed and never thought about wearing them myself… and yet Jessica wears them with such class and elegance that I am now determined to make them part of my wardrobe!

In this episode she wears many different ones, all very pretty:

bow neck blouses

A super-quick internet search reveals that this style is far from extinct and there are many choices for all pockets.

blouses

My personal suggestion is to head to Etsy, where you can find lots of beautiful vintage and handmade options, such as this whimsical polka dot blouse by seller EBV, this lovely brown shades stripes blouse by seller RareSpeciesVintage, this pretty checkered blouse by seller Pineapplemint or this classy white blouse by seller DollyTopsyVintage.

If you like vintage and the beautiful striped design, I found other colour variations on the same theme, such as this olive and red from Rokit or this black and salmon from Beyond Retro.

If you prefer to shop from high street brands, you are still spoiled for choice!
River Island offers this black polka dots blouse with a modern transparence twist, whilst Dorothy Perkins goes floral. House of Frasers chooses Tommy Hilfiger’s geometrical pattern and People Tree prefers scattered dashes.
Pretty check pattern is the choice for Oasis, whilst Debenhams goes for total green. And if it is the timeless white you are after, you can head to Bhs, House of Frasers or Veromoda, all within a more than reasonable budget.

As you can see, the choice is immense! Even a simple search on popular shopping websites, such as Polyvore or Popsugar, gives you plenty of styles to choose from, from budget to luxury.

jess

9 responses to “Jessica’s bow neck blouses: a fashion revelation!

  1. I love the styles you posted here :) You have an eye for this ! Thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you so much, I am glad you like them!!

      • You are welcome :) I hope to keep in touch ! I love your style. Are these styles affordable? It looks as though they could be easy to find at a thrift store! I am a thrifter!

        • Yes, definitely! I linked every item in the post, and they are all affordable, so you can choose to check out the ones you want, or just use the images for inspiration :) I am sure you can find these in thrift and vintage stores!

  2. I love thrift shops

  3. Oh I am just loving your blog! But this post especially…I have to admit, I am not sure I own a blouse that doesn’t have a tie on it. I am OBSESSED with them. Jessica wears them beautifully and I am sure you will too!

Leave a Comment

